Entries Open for 2016 Wine Show here

The 15th Annual Limestone Coast Wine Show 2015   #lcws15

Download Results Book 2015 Limestone Coast Wine Show Results

Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine of Show (sponsored by CCL Label)

Pepper Tree Wines 2013 Pepper Tree ‘Block 21A’ Single Vineyard Wrattonbully Cabernet Sauvignon

Arthur Hoffman Trophy for Viticulturist of Best Wine of Show (sponsored by Vinpac International)

Pete Balnaves

David Wynn Trophy for Best Red Wine of Show (sponsored by Cooperages 1912 & The Oak Solutions Group)

Pepper Tree Wines 2013 Pepper Tree ‘Block 21A’ Single Vineyard Wrattonbully Cabernet Sauvignon

Colin Kidd Trophy for Best White Wine of Show (sponsored by Air Liquide Australia Ltd)

Balnaves of Coonawarra 2013 Chardonnay

Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White Wine (excluding Chardonnay) (sponsored by Collotype Labels)

Raidis Estate 2015 Raidis Estate ‘The Kid’ Riesling

Best Chardonnay Trophy (sponsored by VA Filtration)

Balnaves of Coonawarra 2013 Chardonnay

Best Blended Red Trophy (sponsored by Diverse Barrel Solutions)

Lindemans Wines Pty Ltd 2013 Lindemans Coonawarra Limestone Ridge Shiraz Cabernet

Best Other Single Red Variety Trophy (sponsored by Torresan Estate Wine Bottlers)

Wangolina 2013 Wangolina Tempranillo

Best Shiraz Trophy (sponsored by Lallemand)

Jack Estate 2013 Jack Estate Shiraz

H.R. (Ron) Haselgrove Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon of Show (sponsored by Wrattonbully Wine Region)

Pepper Tree Wines 2013 Pepper Tree ‘Block 21A’ Single Vineyard Wrattonbully Cabernet Sauvignon

Best Individual Vineyard Wine Trophy (sponsored by Must)

Pepper Tree Wines 2013 Pepper Tree ‘Block 21A’ Single Vineyard Wrattonbully Cabernet Sauvignon

Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine (sponsored by Hahn Corporation)

Casella Family Brands 2006 Casella 1919 Cabernet Sauvignon

International Judges’ Award (sponsored by Seguin Moreau)

Pepper Tree Wines 2014 Pepper Tree Limited Release Wrattonbully Tempranillo

Most Successful Exhibitor (sponsored by Kauri)

Brands Laira

Small Batch Trophy (sponsored by Limestone Coast Grape and Wine Council)

Wangolina 2013 Wangolina Spectrum Syrah

From Jane Faulkner Chair Of Judges LCWS LETTER 2015

Class 13 amended 301015LCWS Class13


Entries Open: 25th July 2016

Deadline for entries: 26th August 2016.
Supply of entry labels: September 2016
Exhibit delivery: Monday 10th to 14th October 2016
Judging, 4 days with 2 panels: Monday 24th October to Thursday 27th October 2016
Presentation dinner: 27th October 2016
Exhibitor & public tasting: 28th October 2016 (exhibitors 9 -11.30 ; public 11.30 – 1.30)

For other information, please contact:
Ulrich Grey-Smith
Limestone Coast Grape & Wine Council
PO Box 28
Coonawarra, SA 5263 Australia

email: tech3@limestonecoastwine.com.au

LC Wine Show-Cover v2

LC Wine Show 2015-Schedule

Jane Faulkner (President of Judges) is a journalist by training and a wine writer by vocation. Melbourne-based, she worked at The Age newspaper for 20 years with her wine columns also appearing in the Sydney Morning Herald. She has worked in radio and television and her words can be read in James Halliday’s Wine Companion magazine, on-line at Taste In Music and elsewhere while her website winematters.com.au will be launched soon. She is an experienced wine judge, chairs numerous shows including chief of judges at the Australian Alternative Wine Variety Show.

Mr Lim Hwee Peng (International Judge -Singapore) – Mr Lim Hwee Peng, CSW, FWS is an experienced and multiple-certified Wine Specialist; his professional qualifications include being a Certified Specialist in Wines, French Wine Scholar, Bourgogne Wine Educator & Ambassador, Napa Valley Wine Educator, and Wine Australia A+ Wine Educator.

Through his company – WineCraft Marketing & Services, he is one of the leading providers for wine program providers and consultancy in Singapore. 

His international judging experience includes The Cata D’or (Chile and Argentina), Michelagelo International Wine Show, VERITAS in South Africa, Vinitaly, The Royal Melbourne Wine Show, McLaren Vale Wine Show, Margaret River Wine Show, Adelaide Review Hot 100, Royal Hobart Wine Show, and counting.  Domestically, Lim also chairs the annual The Business Times Wine Challenge (into its 3rd edition). In 2014, Hwee Peng graduated as ‘Dux’ from the 33rd intake of the AWAC run by AWRI.

Hwee Peng runs many international wine courses and certifications including the internationally-certified wine course – ‘French Wine Scholar (FWS) program’, as well as the ‘Certified Specialist in Wine’ (CSW) program, which graduated more than 230 CSWs in Singapore.

Stuart Watson (Judge) has been winemaker for Woodlands Wines since 2002.  Woodlands was established in 1973 by David and Heather Watson, and was one of the first five vineyards to be planted in Margaret River.  Woodlands’ wines have been well awarded in local and national wine shows over the decades, and continue to garner critical acclaim, including being listed in the Langtons Classification of Fine Wines.  Stuart is a Len Evans scholar, and has judged at local and national shows, as well as contributing to the Margaret River Wine Show Committee for many years.

David Morris (Judge) is a 5th generation winemaker from Morris Winery Rutherglen Vic.  Morris Wines are world renowned for their fortified wines, and regularly win top awards at wine shows throughout the country and internationally.  David is a highly experienced wine show judge, having chaired many shows over the years.

 Patrick White (Judge) – Currently a consultant Sommelier whose career has been in the restaurant industry, primarily in Sydney, for the past twenty years, progressively specialising in wine service, working full time as a Sommelier for the past 14 years, first at Luke Mangan’s Salt Restaurant in Darlinghurst for five years, then the last eight years as head Sommelier at Otto Restaurant in Woolloomooloo.   Was the NSW state finalist for the Negociants Working with Wine Fellowship in 2008. In 2010, travelled to London and successfully passed the Advanced Certificate offered by the Court of Master Sommeliers. At the time of passing, was one of only three people in Australia to have achieved the accreditation. 2010 Len Evans Tutorial Scholar. 2011 winner of the Gourmet Traveller Wine Magazine New Wine Writer award. Subsequently had a number of feature articles published in the magazine. Associate Judge 2011 & ’12 at the Royal Sydney Wine Show. Judge ar the Royal Sydney, 2013 & ’14. Judge at the Royal Adelaide Wine Show 2013 & ‘14

Stephanie Dutton (Judge) – Born and raised in a city renowned for its love of food and wine, Stephanie Dutton discovered her passion for fine wine, whilst working in some of Melbourne’s signature restaurants.  Frequently opening fine wines of the world, it became almost impossible not to consider a career in wine and after completing a Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Melbourne, she relocated to Adelaide to embark on a Masters of Oenology.  Whilst completing her studies, Stephanie joined Penfolds in 2007, working at Magill Estate and has since joined the Penfolds Red Wineamking team.  In recent years, a German vintage, judging at Rutherglen and South Australia’s Hot 100 have all complimented the day to day task of crafting South Australian red wines.

ASSOCIATE JUDGES – Ben, Harris, Pip Battley, Fran Bartosek, Dom Coulter, Scott Hannan, Steven Raidis.