Wine Show / Media Releases

And the winner is…WOLF BLASS WINES with a four trophy haul!

27th October 2017

And the winner is…WOLF BLASS WINES with a four trophy haul!

The 2015 Wolf Blass Gold Label Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon has won the Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine of Show at the 2017 Limestone Coast Wine Show. The celebrated drop also collected the David Wynn Trophy for Best Red Wine of Show and the H.R. (Ron) Haselgrove Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon at last night’s sell-out presentation feast held in Padthaway, with viticulturist Martin Wirper awarded the highly coveted Arthur Hoffmann Trophy for ‘Viticulturist of Best Wine of Show’.

It’s the second time a Wolf Blass Gold Label Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon has taken top honours, with the 2010 vintage dominating the 2012 Limestone Coast Wine Show. Chief of Judges, Jane Faulkner, declared that it “just screamed its region”: “There’s a lot to like with this cabernet sauvignon, from its vibrant fruit profile to its detailed tannins and above all, freshness,” she said.

The 2017 show unearthed the broadest and most comprehensive list of trophy winners in the event’s 17-year history, with all 22 trophy categories awarded and all regions within the Limestone Coast represented. The 2017 Ottelia Mount Gambier Riesling won the Colin Kidd Trophy for Best White of Show, and the Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White (excluding Chardonnay). Wrattonbully’s Malone Wines also celebrated a trophy double, with the 2014 Malone Cabernet Sauvignon named Best Individual Vineyard Wine, and the 2009 vintage collecting the Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine. Leconfield Wines’ double trophy haul featured the 2016 Leconfield Coonawarra Petit Verdot (Small Batch and Experimental Award) and the 2016 Leconfield Cabernet Franc (Best Alternative Red Varietal). “This wine is a knockout – it’s delicious – and it’s a really lovely modern example of a variety that has been around for a while,” said Jane Faulkner.

Meanwhile, the Chief of Judges’ Wine to Watch was the 2016 Wangolina Lagrein made from grapes grown near Bordertown: “I was rapt that someone is making this Northern Italian variety; in the glass it has the most insane colour, so obviously you get a bit seduced by this,” Jane Faulkner said. “It’s a very cool wine and I love the fact that someone is going out there and having a crack at it.”

Guest UK Judge, Sarah Ahmed, was also asked to select her favourite wine out of the 496 entries, with the 2017 International Judges Award going to the 2017 Lost Ram Syrah by Robe’s Karatta Wine Co: “This is a really aromatic, juicy, smashable wine with lovely complexity – it’s not out of the box or necessarily what you would expect, and it was a lovely surprise,” she said.

Coastal producers had a strong showing in this year’s awards, with the 2016 Norfolk Rise Vineyard Shiraz winning the Eric Brand Trophy for Best Shiraz and the 2015 Woodsoak Wines Blanc de Noirs named Best Sparkling Wine.

The Red Wine of Provenance Trophy, which provides a platform for exhibitors to enter three vintages of the same wine, was won by Coonawarra’s Redman Wines, with Redman Cabernet Sauvignon from 2014, 2009 and 2000 declared stand-outs. The White Wine of Provenance Trophy went to The Ladbroke Grove Wines Schoolhouse Riesling (2016, 2010 and 2005 vintages).

Rounding out the trophy winners, the 2016 Brands Blockers Chardonnay was named Best Chardonnay, the 2016 Majella Merlot won the Peter Wehl Trophy for Best Merlot, the 2015 Lindemans Coonawarra Pyrus Red was named Best Blended Red, and the 2017 The Cellar Works Rose by Atlas Wines was Best Rose. The trophy for the Best Sweet Wine went to the 2016 Hollick Estates ‘The Nectar’ for the second year in a row, with consecutive vintages.

A total of 306 medals were awarded at this year’s show, including 72 Gold, 92 Silver and 142 Bronze. Wynns Coonawarra Estate was named most successful exhibitor, which awards the winery with the most high scoring wines across the show. All entries will be uncorked and available for tasting at the Coonawarra Hall this morning (Friday October 27), offering members of the public an opportunity to try the wines and compare notes with the judges. The Exhibitor’s Tasting will be held from 9:00am, and the Public Tasting from 11.30am – 1.30pm ($15 admission including results book).

Adrian Gale’s digital images of trophy winners and dinner guests are available here:

Video interviews with selected trophy winners will also be available late today.

For further information, please contact Gretel Sneath on 0417 382 035.