Wine Show

Search by exhibitor, wine or variety, or award

You may search the wineshow results database by selecting any one of the below criteria or use several of them to further filter your results.

Exhibitor Name:
Wine or Variety Name:
Wine Vintage:
Wine Show Year:
Wine Award:


2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019


2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018


View list of judges | View past trophy winners

Wine Show

Media Release for 2018


15 OCTOBER 2018



Judging for the 2018 Limestone Coast Wine Show starts next Tuesday at the Coonawarra Hall, with 501 of the region’s favourite wines facing close scrutiny. New chief of judges, Tasmania’s Samantha Connew, will lead a panel of 10 expert critics during the 18th annual event.

“I haven’t spent a compact period of time in the region for a long time, so I’m looking forward to seeing what changes have occurred in terms of winemaking and quality,” she says. “Cabernet is always going to be the centre of attention because of the legacy that is involved, but from my experience judging other wine shows, there’s also some really exciting things happening with alternative varieties and other red blends.”

Samantha Connew predicts that the Provenance Class, featuring three vintages of the same wine, will be one of the most highly anticipated elements of the show. “We know that Limestone Coast wines age so well, so that should be a real delight,” she says.

This year’s major winners will receive a new-look trophy created by Penola sculptor Guy Detot. Since the wine show’s inception, Mr Detot has collaborated with Mount Gambier architect and artist Robert Miles, who sadly lost his battle with cancer last year. As an ongoing legacy, the 2018 trophies continue to feature Robert Miles’ original designs laser cut in stainless steel. Penola artist Andy Clifford has supplied salvaged fence posts from his historic property Yallum Park, and is assisting Guy Detot with the design of the coveted creations.

“I’m really excited about this new design, which has a more free-form style compared to our previous trophies,” Mr Detot says. “While each trophy follows the same theme, they feature subtle differences reflecting each individual piece of wood and also the individuality of the wines selected.”

Multiple trophy winner Wolf Blass Wines will be aiming for its fourth overall win at the show. The high-profile brand first claimed the top award in 2011 for its 2009 Grey Label Shiraz Cabernet, and was back on top again in 2012 and 2017 after judges declared that their Coonawarra Gold Label Cabernet Sauvignon “just screamed its region”. Wolf Blass viticulturist, Martin Wirper, will be a guest speaker at next Thursday’s sell-out LCWS Trophy Dinner at the Naracoorte Town Hall, sharing details of a recent trip to Hungary, Bulgaria and Germany as part of his 2017 Arthur Hoffmann Trophy prize.


“These countries have a long and rich history with wine, yet you don’t really hear a lot about them on the world stage,” he explains. “I was mindful that I would be presenting my findings to marketers, winemakers and fellow viticulturists, so I wanted to go somewhere completely different and look at all aspects of their industry over there, from viticulture to wineries, varieties and innovation.”


For interviews, please contact Sarah Pidgeon (LCWS Committee) on 0412 825 149, Martin Wirper (2017 Arthur Hoffman Trophy winner) on 0438 862 690.


Captions for Dropbox Photos: Martin Wirper visiting the rootstock nursery and wine sales area (with Dr Zora Nagy and Dr Attila Nagy) at the NARIC Research Institute for Viticulture and Enology in Badacsonytomaj, Hungary.


Key dates:

Judging 23rd-24th October at the Coonawarra Hall

Trophy dinner 25th October at Naracoorte Town Hall

Exhibitors & Public Tasting Friday 26th October at Coonawarra Hall 9am-1:00pm

2018 Wine Show Trophy Winners

Arthur Hoffmann Trophy for Viticulturist of Best Wine
sponsored by Vinpac International
Tim McCarthy - George Wyndham
Best Alternative Red Variety (other than SHZ, MER, CS)
sponsored by Eura Carla
2018 Penley Estate Spring Release Cab Franc
Best Blended Red
sponsored by Padthaway Wine Region
2016 George Wyndham 'I Am George' Shiraz Cabernet
Best Chardonnay
sponsored by VA Filtration
2017 DiGiorgio Family Wines Coonawarra Chardonnay
Best Individual Vineyard Wine
sponsored by Must Apartments
2015 St Hugo Vetus Purum Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon
Best Rosé Trophy
sponsored by Blue H2O Filtration
2018 Leconfield Coonawarra Rosé
Best Sparkling and Sweet Wines Trophy
sponsored by Landmark
NV Leconfield Syn Rouge
Best Sweet Wine
sponsored by Limestone Coast Grape and Wine Council
No award
Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine
sponsored by CCL Label
2016 George Wyndham 'I Am George' Shiraz Cabernet
Chief of Judges Wine To Watch
sponsored by Lawrences Irrigation
2017 Norfolk Rise Estate Shiraz
Colin Kidd Trophy for Best White Wine
sponsored by Limestone Coast Local Government Association
2017 DiGiorgio Family Wines Coonawarra Chardonnay
David Wynn Trophy for the Best Red Wine
sponsored by Cooperages 1912
2016 George Wyndham 'I Am George' Shiraz Cabernet
Eric Brand Trophy for Best Shiraz
sponsored by Lallemand
2016 Berrigan Shiraz
Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine
sponsored by Hahn Corporation
2010 St Hugo Vetus Purum Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon
H.R. (Ron) Haselgrove Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon
sponsored by Wrattonbully Wine Region
2015 Jacaranda Ridge Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon
International Judges' Award
sponsored by Seguin Moreau
2016 Black Wattle Vineyards Mt Benson Cabernet Sauvignon
Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White Wine, excluding Chardonnay
sponsored by Multi-Color
2018 DiGiorgio Family Wines Kongorong Riesling
Most Successful Exhibitor
sponsored by Kauri
Orlando Wines
Peter Wehl Trophy for Best Merlot
sponsored by Classic Oak Products
2016 Petaluma Merlot
Provenance Red Wine Classes
sponsored by Torresan Estate Wine Bottlers
Wynns Coonawarra Estate Black Label Cabernet Sauvignon 2015, 2010, 2005
Provenance White Wine Classes
sponsored by Della Toffola
Raidis Estate 'The Kid' Riesling 2018, 2010, 2008
Small Batch and Experimental Wines Award
sponsored by EE Muir and Sons
2018 Bellwether Ant Series Wrattonbully Barbera