Wine Show

Search by exhibitor, wine or variety, or award

You may search the wineshow results database by selecting any one of the below criteria or use several of them to further filter your results.

Exhibitor Name:
Wine or Variety Name:
Wine Vintage:
Wine Show Year:
Wine Award:


2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017


2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017


View list of judges | View past trophy winners

Wine Show

Media Release for 2008

Majella Cabernet wins 2008 Wine Show!

30 October 2008

Majella’s 2006 Cabernet scooped the major prize pool at the 2008 Limestone Coast Wine Show presentation feast at the Naracoorte Town Hall. After being named ‘Cabernet Sauvignon’ and ‘Best Red’, the Coonawarra drop went on to claim the Bill Redman Trophy for ‘Best Wine of Show’, with Majella viticulturalist, Anthony Lynn, receiving the major award for the night - the highly coveted Arthur Hoffman Trophy for Viticulturalist of Best Wine of Show.

Chairman of judges, Huon Hooke, says the 2006 Majella Cabernet was an excellent reflection of an outstanding 2006 vintage.

“There were several cabernets in the taste-off and this wine just had terrific purity of cabernet fruit, which stole the show,” he said. “A lot of cabernets are pushing the boundaries in terms of grape ripening, but this wine stood out for being definitively cabernet in its flavour profile, and that’s what clinched it – it’s an excellent wine, and I would expect that it will age well and be a good wine to put in the cellar.”

Coonawarra’s Ladbroke Grove was another star performer; its 2005 Riesling was named Best White Wine for classes 1-3, 6-8, 14 and 20, and was also declared Best White Wine of Show. Balnaves of Coonawarra continued its distinguished record for excellent chardonnay, with its 2007 Chardonnay collecting the trophy for the best Chardonnay. The 2007 Punters Corner Single Vineyard Chardonnay took out the ‘Best Individual Vineyard Wine’ category.

Coonawarra’s popularity among the judges continued when the 1998 Katnook Estate Odyssey collected the International Judges’ Award, and the 2001 Parker First Growth was declared Best Museum Wine.

The 2006 Malone Shiraz from the Wrattonbully region was named Best Shiraz, while the prize for Best Blended Red/ Other Single Red Variety was awarded to the 2005 Lindemans Coonawarra Pyrus Red. Orlando wines was declared the most successful exhibitor overall, based on total points scored.

All entries in this year’s show will be uncorked and ready for tasting at the Coonawarra Hall this morning. (Friday October 31) during a $15 per head public tasting session from 11.30am to 1.30pm. Interview opportunities are also expected to be available at an earlier exhibitors tasting session being held from 9am to 11.30am.

2008 Wine Show Trophy Winners

Arthur Hoffmann Trophy for Viticulturist of Best Wine
sponsored by Vinoak
Anthony Lynn
Best Blended Red
sponsored by A&G Engineering
2005 Lindemans Coonawarra Pyrus Red
Best Chardonnay
sponsored by Chardonnay Lodge
2007 Balnaves of Coonawarra Chardonnay
Best Individual Vineyard Wine
sponsored by Lallemand
2007 Punters Corner Single Vineyard Chardonnay
Best Shiraz
sponsored by evOAK
2006 Malone Shiraz
Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine
sponsored by Water Dynamics
2006 Majella Cabernet
Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine Majella Cabernet Sauvignon 2006
Colin Kidd Trophy for Best White Wine
sponsored by Bulk Wine Supplies
2005 Ladbroke Grove Riesling
David Wynn Trophy for the Best Red Wine
sponsored by Cooperages 1912 and Punters Retreat
2006 Majella Cabernet
Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine
sponsored by Hahn Corporation
2001 Parker First Growth
H.R. (Ron) Haselgrove Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon
sponsored by Wrattonbully Wine Industry Association
2006 Majella Cabernet
International Judges' Award
sponsored by Seguin Moreau
1998 Katnook Estate Odyssey
Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White Wine, excluding Chardonnay
sponsored by Air Liquide
2005 Ladbroke Grove Riesling
Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White Wine, excluding Chardonnay Ladbroke Grove Riesling 2005
Most Successful Exhibitor
sponsored by Prowine South Australia
Orlando Wines