Wine Show

Search by exhibitor, wine or variety, or award

You may search the wineshow results database by selecting any one of the below criteria or use several of them to further filter your results.

Exhibitor Name:
Wine or Variety Name:
Wine Vintage:
Wine Show Year:
Wine Award:


2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017


2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017


View list of judges | View past trophy winners

Wine Show

Media Release for 2006

Wine Show Winners Announced! "What a good job they did in 2004…"

27 October 2006

Majella's 2004 Cabernet Sauvignon has collected three trophies at the 2006 Limestone Coast Wine Show.

After being named 'Best Red' and 'Best Cabernet Sauvignon', the prized drop went on to claim the Bill Redman Trophy for 'Best Wine of Show' at last night's presentation feast at Zema Estate. Chairman of judges, James Halliday, declared the wine "Classic Cabernet Sauvignon" and "Classic Coonawarra".

"It satisfied both tests of varietal character and purity on the one hand, but also regionality on the other hand, and is just simply a distillation of the reason why Coonawarra - as opposed to other parts of the Limestone Coast - has such a fantastic reputation for Cabernet Sauvignon," he said.

Adding to the winery's winning streak, Majella's 2005 Musician took out the 'Best Blended Red' category, with viticulturalist Anthony Lynn receiving the major award for the night - the highly coveted Arthur Hoffman Trophy for Viticulturalist of Best Wine of Show.

For the second year in a row, the Best White Trophy went to Balnaves of Coonawarra…this time for its 2005 Chardonnay. Orlando Wines' 1998 Lawson's Padthaway Shiraz won the International Judges Award, while quiet achiever Flints of Coonawarra had the 'Best Shiraz' for 2006.

The famous 1990 John Riddoch Cabernet Sauvignon earned Wynns Coonawarra Estate the Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine, with the winery also named the Most Successful exhibitor for 2006.

"Coonawarra absolutely dominated the show - and to a greater degree than we've seen previously," said Mr Halliday. "The quality of the entries was very high, and I think definitely the take home message is what a good job they did in 2004."

And according to the head of the judging panel, the wines keep on getting better.

"You still are vintage-dependent, and I think that the exciting thing is that with 2005 and 2006 coming through, one can expect even better things again next year, so it's a very exciting prospect."

All entries in this year's show will be uncorked and ready for tasting at the Coonawarra Hall this morning. (Friday October 27). This ultimate Limestone Coast wine tasting experience is a once-in-a-year opportunity to sample and compare notes with the expert judging panel.

2006 Wine Show Trophy Winners

Arthur Hoffmann Trophy for Viticulturist of Best Wine Anthony Lynn
Best Blended Red Musician by Majella 2005
Best Chardonnay Balnaves of Coonawarra Chardonnay 2005
Best Individual Vineyard Wine No Award
Best Shiraz Flints of Coonawarra Rostrevor Shiraz 2004
Bill Redman Trophy for Best Wine Majella Cabernet Sauvignon 2004
Colin Kidd Trophy for Best White Wine Balnaves Chardonnay 2005
David Wynn Trophy for the Best Red Wine Majella Cabernet Sauvignon 2004
Ewen Fergusson McBain Trophy for Best Museum Wine Wynns Coonawarra Estate 1990 John Riddoch Cabernet Sauvignon
H.R. (Ron) Haselgrove Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon Majella Cabernet Sauvignon 2004
International Judges' Award Lawson’s Padthaway Shiraz 1998
Karl Seppelt Trophy for Best White Wine, excluding Chardonnay No Award
Most Successful Exhibitor Wynns Coonawarra Estate